top of page

BREASTFEEDING MY BABY WAS NOT AS NATURAL AS I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE


The World Health Organization (WHO) and The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommend that babies be exclusively breastfeed from birth to six months. At six months, breastfeeding should continue, and age appropriate food should be introduced. WHO recommends that breastfeeding should continue until a child is two years or older, while AAP recommends breastfeeding until the age of one. In many countries, it is common for a child to be breastfed for the first five years of their lives, but in the United States, the average is three months. Studies show that the number of women who breastfeed has risen to about 75%, but by six months the percentage begins to drop, and by one year it dwindles significantly. So why doesn’t the average American woman breastfeed the full recommended year? Why do 25% of women choose not to at all? Put simply, breastfeeding is hard work, and not everyone can do it.

Choosing to breastfeed or formula feed your precious new itty bitty is a very personal choice. For some women it is natural and beautiful from the start (who are you mythical creatures????), for others it’s a struggle, for some it is not an option, and for others it is not something they want to do. Whatever you choose, someone will undoubtedly have an opinion, but it’s not my place to have one, just to share my story.

Breastfeeding my baby was not as natural as I thought it would be. I read the books, watched the YouTube videos, and attended the classes before my little lamb arrived. I was as prepared as anyone could be, and yet, the first two weeks of nursing this precious new life force was excruciating.

When my little lamb came into this world, she nuzzled over to my right breast within minutes and latched right on. It was truly a magical moment, just like all the videos had shown. The problem is, babies don't come into this world knowing how to latch; they only know how to suck. So while I was enjoying this euphoric moment, after hours of her latching incorrectly, my nipples were about done. The midwife and nurses kept telling me my latch looked great, but it sure as heck didn't feel great by the next day.

By the end of the first week of nursing, I would have gladly given birth again if it meant the pain I experienced every time my sweet little lamb latched on would stop. I walked around my house topless for two weeks, because the thought of anything coming in contact with my raw, cracked nipples was unbearable. I nursed on demand, so I braced myself for impact every time she whimpered for her momma’s milk. This was not what I had read about. Where was my magical nursing time filled with rainbows and fairy dust? I kept watching the videos, and I was doing exactly what they were doing. I had our latch checked more than once by professionals, and was told it looked great. Looks were obviously deceiving.

Then it finally happened, it stopped hurting…mostly. After two weeks, it barely hurt at all. By four weeks we had a rhythm together with rainbows on the horizon. By six weeks we were pro's that looked like they were born to do this, because we were! I still wake up occasionally with sore nipples almost a year later when my little lamb turns bed time into an all night nursing party, but this occasional discomfort is nothing in comparison to what I experienced during our initial breastfeeding learning curve.

My breastfeeding journey wasn't easy. It turned out that my little lamb had a slight lip and tongue tie that made it more difficult for her to stretch her mouth wide enough in the beginning to get a good latch. In time, and with practice and patients from both of us, she was able to latch correctly without causing me pain. Pumping when I went back to work was emotionally awful, but I am glad my job allowed me the time to pump twice a day. Letting my little lamb nurse on demand was time consuming, but there was no other way I would have wished to spend my time.

I am so glad I stuck with it, that I was blessed with a good milk supply, and that I have a very supportive husband. It took these three ingredients, a lot of patience, and a good sense of humor to be able to push through the hard times. We have been nursing for almost a year, and are showing no signs of slowing down. We still have some obstacles, like learning how to not bite momma’s nipples with her new teeth, but overall, we are a well-oiled machine. She is great at nursing and a great eater, and when she is ready to move on from momma's milk, I will be ready to let her (after I get over the initial emotional upheaval). Breastfeeding has given us a bond that I will forever be grateful for. I am so glad I stuck it out in the beginning, but I understand why some women do not.

Breastfeeding is a personal choice, and one I advocate for, but it's not the only choice. Some women nurse for a day, a week, a month, three years, or not at all. Some women can't, due to medical reasons or personal reasons. For some women, their milk never came in or their supply was too low. Some women adopt. Whatever the reason, we need to support our fellow mommas and the decisions they make when it comes to either breastfeeding or formula feeding their itty bitties.

If breastfeeding is right for you, stick it out, get support, always keep a full water bottle next to you, and know you are doing the very best for your baby. If formula feeding is right for you, stick it out, get support, always keep a full water bottle next to you, and know you are doing the very best for your baby.

Love, Laughter, & Light,

Julia

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page