top of page

My First Children's Book Is Being Published!


As some of you know, and many of you don’t, I have written a children’s book that is going to be published and available this summer! It has been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember to be a published author, and now that dream is finally becoming a reality. The book is a children’s board book titled, That’s Not My Momma’s Milk! It is a vegan themed book that promotes compassion towards animals, and also celebrates the bond between mother and child when nursing their young.

That’s Not My Momma’s Milk is a vegan children’s board book for the youngest of readers. Through simple, repetitive language, and beautiful illustrations, done by the amazing Kayleigh Castle (pictured below), children are introduced to various animals nursing their young. This book teaches compassion for all living beings and shows the unmistakable bond that all mommas have with their young. A wonderful book that helps families teach children that a momma’s milk is meant for her baby with the simple proclamation of, That’s not my momma’s milk!

Book Illustrator Kayleigh Castle

When my daughter was born almost two years ago, we embarked on two major journeys together: exclusively breastfeeding and becoming vegan. My husband and I agreed that this was the best path for our family, and the more I researched and experienced life with my little one, the more motivated I became to write a book for children her age that supported and normalized the beauty of breastfeeding and the compassion of living a vegan life. My daughter’s birth strengthened my veganism because it helped affirm the connection that all animals have with their babies. It truly hit home more than ever how the animal use industries separate moms from their babies without any thought, for the consumption and use of animal products.

The publishing company, Vegan Publishers, has helped me set up a campaign on Indiegogo to raise funds to have my book published, because, although popular, children’s board books are not very profitable. We have a variety of perks that you can purchase in order to support this campaign. You can purchase a signed copy of the book, an eBook, or an activity packet that includes stickers and a downloadable coloring book. Our perks also include a tee shirt and a matching onesie, or a limited addition illustration print from the book. Also, you can receive an original personalized print of you and your child created by the illustrator, Kayleigh Castle. The campaign starts today, and this is where I can use all of your help.


First, like my page! You can find it on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/thatsnotmymommasmilk/. Please take a second to like the page and invite anyone you know who could be interested in this book to like the page as well. The page will be full of updates on the book and the campaign.

Second, spread the word! There is a promo video for the book, as well as additional promotional videos being released over the next few weeks. If you could share these videos on your social media sites to further spread the word, I would really appreciate it!

There will be links to the campaign that you can check out and support if you would like, and getting the word out about this labor of love of mine would mean the world to me!


Thank you so much in advance for your support!!!!

Love, Laughter & Light,


Julia


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page